Apply for a scholarship to SPJ’s annual conference

The Society of Professional Journalists and SDX Foundation offers scholarships for SPJ members to attend the annual Excellence in Journalism conference.

Below are details about the programs from a recent SPJ Leads newsletter. Note: I was a diversity fellow in 2013. Please email me at if you have any qs



Applications for three annual scholarships are due on May 12. Read more details and fill out the online application forms for a chance to finance your professional development at EIJ14.

The Diversity Leadership Program is an opportunity for members to become more acquainted with SPJ through exposure to the Society. This educational process begins at the national conference and includes a complimentary conference registration and paid travel to the event. SPJ will select six Diversity Leadership Fellows to participate in the program, which will pay for their EIJ14 expenses. To learn more and apply online, click here.


The Terry Harper Memorial Scholarship honors former SPJ Executive Director Terry Harper, who passed away on June 2, 2009 at the young age of 45 after a two-year battle with brain cancer. As executive director, one of Terry’s highest priorities was the development of high-caliber training opportunities for SPJmembers. In honor of Terry’s lasting efforts to improve SPJ and the entire journalism community, SPJ will award scholarships to the EIJ conference thanks to a generous outpouring of support for his memorial fund. To learn more and apply online, click here.
The Robert D.G. Lewis First Amendment Award was created to honor Robert Lewis, SPJ President 1985-86, National FOI Chairman 1978-83 and Wells Key Recipient 1980. From the generosity of the Lewis family, the award is given each year to a student SPJ member who has demonstrated outstanding service to the First Amendment through the field of journalism. The award assists a student with his/her attendance to SPJ‘s annual convention. To learn more and apply online, click here.


Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.